Citywide Council for District 75

ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

Date: August 24, 2020 **Time**: 6:30 PM – 9:00PM **Location**: Virtual Meeting: Zoom

MEETING CALLED BY	Shamel Lawrence, President		
FACILITATOR	Shamel Lawrence, President		
ROLL CALL & NOTE TAKER	Grisel Cardona, Recording Secretary		
TIMEKEEPER	Shamel Lawrence, President		
ATTENDEES	Amy Ming Tsai, Council Member-Present, Tiesha Groover, Council Member-Present, Shamel Lawrence, Sr., President- Present, Craig E. Spencer, Vice President- Present, Grisel Cardona, Recording Secretary- Present, Debra Altman, Treasurer- Present, Constance Asiedu, Public Advocate Appointee-Present and Patricia Jewett, Public Advocate Appointee- Present		
MEETING START & ADJOURN	Start: 6:38pm Adjourn: 7:34pm		

Call to Order and Roll Call: S. Lawerence, President and G. Cardona, Recording Secretary

Elect a Chair Pro Tem: S. Lawerence read from the Election Manual for CEC's to begin the proces of the elections for the executive seats on the council. He called for the nomination of a Pro-Tem to chair the election process for the nominations of President. After the election for President the elected President will commence with election process.

Pro-Tem: T. Groove nominated herself, second call for Pro-Tem, no nominess, T.Groover continued to read from the script and the election proceeded.

Nomination for President: members nominated the following canidates

Shamel Lawerence / Craig E. Spencer for Co-Presidents and Amy Ming Tsai for President:

Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

G. Cardona: Lawerence & Spencer C. Asisedu: Lawerence & Spencer

A. M. Tsai: A. M. Tsai

D. Altman: Lawerence & Spencer
P. Jewett: Lawerence & Spencer
C. E. Spencer: Lawerence & Spencer
S. Lawerence: Lawerence & Spencer
T. Groover: Lawerence & Spencer

✓ Tally of votes:

7- Votes for Lawerence & Spencer

1-Vote for A.M.Tsai

0-Abstian

Note: The Pro-Tem did not ask each canidate to give a two minute speech for their nomination for
President. C. Asiesu suggested the nominees have the opportunity to provide their two minute speech
to the members or move to the next nomination. A.M.Tsai, S. Lawerence and C.E. Spencer agreeded to
continue with the nominations.

Nomination for Vice President: members nominated the following canidates

C.E.Spener nominate Grisel Cardona for Vice President. G. Cardona accepted the nomination including a two minute speech for VP

D. Altman nominate A.M. Tsai for Vice President. A.M. Tsai acepted the nomination including a two minute speech for VP.

> Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

D. Altman: Tsai

C.E. Spencer: Cardona C.Asisdu: Cardona T. Groover: Abstaine P.Jewtt: Cardona S. Lawerence: Cardona G. Cardona: Cardona A.M.Tsai: Tsai

✓ Tally of votes:

5-Votes for Cardona 2-Votes for Tsai 1-Abstane

Note: Six votes are needed for the election of VP the council will revisit the nomination.

Nomination for Recording Secretary: members nominated the following canidates

T.Groover nominated herself and provided a two minute speech

C.E.Spencer nominated Patricia Jewett, she acepted and she provided a two minute speech

D. Altaman nominated Grisel Cardona, she declined.

Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

A.M.Tsai: Abstain
C.E.Spencer: Jewett
P.Jewett: Jewett
G.Cardona: Jewett
T.Groover: Groover
C.Asuedu: Jewett
D.Altman: T. Groover
S.Lawrence: T.Groover

✓ Tally of votes:

4-Votes for Jewett3-Votes for Groover

1-Abstain

Note: Six votes are needed for the election of Recording Secretary the council will revisit the nomination.

Nomination for Treasure: members nominated the following canidates

C.E.Spencer nominates D.Altman and she accepts and she provided a two minute speech.

There were no other nomniees for treasuer

Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

A.M.Tsai: Altman C.E.Spencer: Altman S.Lawerence:Altman T.Groover: Altman P.Jewett: Altman C.Asiedu: Altman G.Cardona: Altman D.Altman: Altman

✓ Tally of votes:

8 Votes for D. Altman for Treasuere

0-No 0-Abstain

The council continued by opening up the nomination for Vice President and Recording Secretary:

Nominations for Vice President: members nominated the following canidates

D. Altman nominated A.M.Tsai, with drew from the nomination

T.Groover nominated herself and provided a two minutes speech.

C.Asudue nominated G. Cardona, she accepted the nomination and provided a two minute speech.

Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

C.E. Spencer: Cardona
P.Jewett: Cardona
D.Altamn: Cardona
G.Cardona: Cardona
A.M.Tsai: Abstaine
T.Groover: Groover
C.Asidu: Cardona
S.Lawerence: Abstain
✓ Tally of votes:

5-Votes for Cardona 1-Vote for Groover

2-Abstain

Note: Six votes are needed for the election of Vice President the council will revisit the nomination.

Nomination for Recording Secretary: members nominated the following canidates

D. Altman nominated T.Groover and she declined

C. Ausedu nominates P. Jewett, she accept and she provided a two minutes sppech for the postion C.E.Spencer nominated G.Cardoma and she declined

Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

A.M.Tsai: Abstain T.Groover: Jewett C.Asedu: Jewett G.Cardona: Jeweet D. Altamn:Jewett S.Lawerence:Jewtte P.Jewett: Jewett

✓ Tally of votes:

7- Votes for Jewett

1-Abstain 0-No

The council continued by opening up the nomination Vice President:

Nominations for Vice President: members nominated the following canidates

G.Cardona nominated hereself

T. Groover nominated herself

> Nominations closed / Roll Call Vote proceeded:

C.E.Spencer: Cardona A.M.Tsai: Abstain C.Asudu: Cardona P.Jewett: G.Cardona T.Groover: Groover G.Cardona: Cardina S.Lawerece: Cardona

✓ Tally of votes:

6- Votes for Cardona 1-Vote for Groover

1-Abstain 0-No

◆ ACTIONS:

VOTES	Motion made	Voice –Vote Tally
S. Lawerence closed the Annual Meeting at 7:34 pm. A motion was called to closed the Annual Meeting	C. Asisdeu made a motion and P. Jewett, second second.	8- Yes O-Abstain O-No